Awkward Moments

Singing in the Car

In Uncategorized on September 1, 2010 at 1:40 am

You know what’s awkward? When you’re singing in your car and you look over, mid verse, to find someone in another car staring at you in horror.

I don’t know if everyone does this, but I have this annoying habit of whenever I’m driving, to crank up some music and just start singing. Now, I’m a person that loves my music – don’t get me wrong, so whenever I’m in the mood, I find it appropriate to sing along (sometimes embarrassingly loudly).

Now, this can be a dangerous thing to do in public because, after all, I am a very bad singer. So whenever I’m in the safety of my car, I feel like I’m in a protective bubble where no one else can hear me sing. However, what I NEVER take into account is that although people can’t hear me, they certainly can SEE me!

So here is my story:

Today I was driving down a road, cranking up (now don’t get angry at me readers!! please!) a Lady Gaga song. I started to sing along, feeling comfortable. And just as I was turning left onto another street, I looked into another car as I was singing and saw an acquaintance of mine driving the other car. Their facial expression was priceless. It was this utter look of horror, puzzlement, and a bit of intrigue. It was SO awkward! At this moment I quickly finished my turn and accelerated, getting my ass out of there as quick as I could!

Now, I see this acquaintance of mine all the time, everyday actually; so the next time I saw this person, there was that awkward thought in the back of each of our minds that he had seen me very embarrassingly sing in my car.

See, the problem with this situation is that I had to see this person afterwards. I don’t know, I find that quite awkward.

But it’s always funny to see people’s reactions when they see you singing or dancing in your car. I’ve been in instances where I’ve had little, sweet old grannys discover me singing. They gave me looks of startlement mixed with anger, almost as if I shouldn’t be singing at all! “Back in my day, we sang in churches or rehearsal halls! Not in cars!”

Then there’s always the “stressed out soccor mom” who gives you a look of extreme contempt, as if the sight of you singing will damage her childrens futures and that you’ve clearly made the wrong decisions.

Then there’s the business man who sees you, then tries to quickly ignore you and pretend like it didn’t happen at all!

Naw, I love all of those types of people above – I think they are incredible! It’s just awkward for them to see you singing and dancing to cranked up music while you’re driving.

What do you guys think? Have you had any experiences like that?

Do you think singing in the car is ‘appropriate’ for today’s social standards?

Have YOU been the ‘other person in the car’ who caught someone else singing in another car?

Please read the other blog entries and if you like the blog, feel free to pass on the link! Thanks guys! 🙂

  1. I generaly just keep on a singin’ when someone notices me. This is my car and my comute! I let them be stiffs if they want.

Leave a Reply

